top of page

READING CHALLENGE 2017

Hello Everyone,

HAPPY NEW YEAR! GOOD-BYE 2016, HELLO 2017! I wanted to begin the new year with a Reading Challenge!!! My friend sent this in a text to me and I thought it was a great idea to do a challenge for the new year. I really love reading challenges! Take on the Reading Challenge and comment below or tagged me at any of my social media platforms.

Here are the Reading Challenges of 2017!

Challenge created by RBLB

1. Reread a book you rated 5 stars in 2015.

A: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

I reread the Wrath and the dawn at least three times when it was release in 2015. I love the rich and compelling retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. I love the beauty and lush relationship of Shahrzad & Khalid. I highly suggest to read if you are looking for any release from 2015.

2. A book with a red cover A :This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song has been on my TBR list ever since JessetheReader has mentioned it a couple times in his videos! This novel is strange and unique - where violence created monsters. I have meet Victoria Schwab in October - The sweetest and kindest person I' he met. I am really thrill to read it soon.

3. Finish a series you started A: Zodiac by Romania Russel

Wow. I see this cover many times when I went on a Chapter run, yet I never really picked it up until I grab it off my friends bookshelf. I am really impressed with this beautiful story of space and the zodiac signs. I thought the character was young, naive, yet learn to grow into her role as a Guardian to her Cancerain Planet that was tragically hit by darkness that could be the lost 13th sign.

4. A book reccomended to you that you wouldn't have picked yourself A: The First Time She Drowned by Kerri Kletter

How this novel gotten my attention was when I tweeted to Romina Russel and she tweeted me back a book recommendation. I have not heard of the author before, however, I am intrigue. Thank Romina Russel and I cannot wait to pick this novel up!

5. A book with a name in the title A: Anna dressed in blood by Kendare Blake

I met Kendare Blake in October and she is witty and clever ! I have read her Anti-Goddess series and just started reading Three Dark Crowns. I recently been getting into horror and thriller and been wanting to read Anna Dressed in Blood.

6. A book released in 2017 A: A list of cages by Robin Roe

This book is supposed to be a book that is to be close to the heart. I really want to read it! This novel is supposed to be heart-warming and wonderful. Its about friendship, lost, healing and kindess.

7. Read something outside your reading comfort zone A: Milk and Honey by Rapi Kuar

Poetry has always been outside my reading comfort zone. It’s not that I dislike it - Sometimes I don't notice the true meaning behind it. I read it and I think ' WOW This was really deep and beautiful' , not infer the real meaning behind it. Milk and Honey was given to me, and I watched Rupi Kaur speak on TedTalk. Poetry is one that people really enjoyed and loved or don't.

8. A book in the U.K A: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

I have been on the search for more Jack the Ripper novels forever since Ripper by Amy Carol Reeves (Such a great gripping trilogy). I hear many great things from the book community and cannot wait to see how this retelling of the shadow serial killer on Whitechapel portrays....

9. A book with a women on the cover A: The Hate you give by Angie Thomas

I cannot wait to read this novel. On Twitter and latest booktube and book bloggers have been saying hype about this new debut novel. I do not know the whole gist, thats great, I want to go in opinion free. I am looking forward to reading The Hate You Give.

10. A book set in the future

A: Replica by Lauren Oliver

I met Lauren Oliver!! It was awesome! She is hilarious, sarcastic and beautiful! I have read only one book by her - Panic. This novel is strange and clever because it is not in one but two perspectives - you can read Lyra then Gemma, Gemma then Lyra, Lyra, Gemma or Gemma, Lyra. Wow that was a bit of a tongue twister. Basically, you can read it in different ways. Clever, Lauren. I chose this book that's set in the future because it could be possible in the future.

11. Start a new series

A: Citadal by Kate Mosse

I was beyond happy to grab this book off the 80% table at Chapters...Unfortunately I did not notice it was the third book to a trilogy!!!!! AHHHHH- It’s okay. I’m going to make it work. I been waiting to buy more adult books for myself and this summary sounded right up my alley of historical fiction, angels and demons and powerful and smart women.

12. A book by a favorite author A: Long Way Home by Katie McGarry

Any books by Katie McGarry are blessed and made with gold and silver. I love her novels - The Pushing the Limits series and The Thunder Roads series. You will find quickly that I will never stop recommending her books. They are sooooo deep and great! I highly recommend. Long Way Home is the third release to the Thunder Roads series. I am really overjoyed for Long Way Home.

bottom of page