top of page

BOOK REVIEW: Till Death by Jennifer L Armentrout


*** A reminder - this novel is an adult novel. This is not a young adult or teen book. There are mentions of sexual content, kidnapping and serial killers **

This arc was given to me on Kindle edition, my thoughts and opinions are my own. Summary "People don't get second chances often, Sasha, but we got one, and I'm not going to let that pass us by." – TILL DEATH, Jennifer Armentrout

It’s been nearly a decade since Sasha Keaton left her West Virginia hometown . . . since she escaped the twisted serial killer known as the Groom. She is the only one to get out of his grasp. Returning to help run her family inn means being whole again, except for one missing piece. The piece that falls into place when Sasha’s threatened—and FBI agent Cole Landis vows to protect her the way he couldn’t a decade ago.

First one woman disappears; then another, and all the while, disturbing calling cards are left for the sole survivor of the Groom’s reign of terror. Cole’s never forgiven himself for not being there when Sasha was taken, but he intends to make up for it now . . . because under the quirky sexiness Cole first fell for is a steely strength that only makes him love Sasha more.

But someone is watching. Waiting. And Sasha’s first mistake could be her last ( Goodreads, 2017).

Personal thoughts

There were rules. Rules that shouldn’t be broken, but it happened this time and damn it, it would happen again Wow. Wow. My heart is pounding against my chest still. I cannot believe this is Jennifer’s work. I'm pleased and impressed with this new stand alone novel. I am used to hot aliens, gargoyles and tempting Pure boyfriends but this is ... chilling ... gripping ... daring and sexy! This is my type of novel that I want to curl in bed, with a lot of chocolate and tea and snuggle with my non-existent cat. Till Death is combination of suspense and romance, and was written superbly. If you are looking for something that will get you out of a reading slump. This is the book that WILL give you the boost you need. I really enjoyed it and cannot wait for you to read it. This is a book that will have a gut-wrench reaction, biting your nails and ducking under the covers of exploding climax.

Sasha is one of my favourite “older” characters that Jennifer has written. She is a strong, likeable woman on shaky legs trying to get by every day on her ordinary life when it was taken away by the filthy hands of the groom a decade ago. She was taken during her freshmen of college and barley was found alive. She is a survivor. She left town after being kidnapped from the Groom. She left all connections but her mom and close-knit friends. She went through intense therapy from the hellish nightmares and inner scars the groom left. Though 10 years have passed, the grooms mark was not going to fade. Sasha has a hard time trusting others and majority of herself. VERY key to the novel. When she comes home to help assist with her mom's hotel, when her life becomes mundane until someone left a dead carcass in her mom's car....

There were two types of death. Actual death, where the body and soul and everything was gone. Then there was the second kind of death – where the soul was stripped away, but the body continued on, going day to day, just existing in a shell of what once was.

Cole is a FBI agent, yet 10 years before that he was boy in love with Sasha. LE SIGH. Swoon ! College has done well, for our male character. Cole is now a man; protective, patient, generous, handyman, and such an cinnamon bun.

For a while I thought you were the one who got away. That one day I would somehow piece it all back together, but I was wrong. You were the one.”

I might’ve stopped breaking.

He curled the tips of his fingers around my chin. “You are the one.”

Heart flutters and toe curling perfection. Cole Landis, you are the guy! I can gush about him all day.

There is also a thread of guilt for not able to protect Sasha the night she was taken, but the last person. That is really a hit in the soul for him because he felt he could have turn the events arounds to make sure she would not be taken. Now, that she is back in town, he would bend the world and walk through hell to protect Sasha. I really like how compassionate he was and how he really listened to Sasha. Although, those cheeky and alpha male moments were not so bad either. All he wants is to make Sasha feel safe and comfortable, to make her live again. To overcome the past and value second chances. The groom is one nasty serial killer. He's back. He lingers and watches his victims before he kidnaps them. He keeps them hidden, blindfolded and pushes himself on them. He creates his ideal bride and if he gets bored or finds that you are not his dream bride, he dresses you in a wedding dress and cuts your ring finger before murdering you. He loves toying with Sasha with all these threatening and disturbing messages. I love how Jennifer created this villain and had POV via Sasha’s memories. I had the jitters just trying to figure who the killer is and how focus I was trying to get to wrap my mind about his motives.

Overall, Till Death is a really great standalone read for all those romantic/suspense readers. Jennifer was kept the plot focused and electric and overall sasifying. I think I reread this book four times. Sasha and Cole are my OTP. I want their realationship. Engrossing and romantic !

Comment below your thoughts about Jennifer's newst book and, Who is your favourite villian character is by Jennifer L Armentrout ?

Happy Reading !

Maddi Clark

bottom of page