top of page

BOOK REVIEW: FrostBlood by Elly Blake


Book One of the Frostblood Saga series Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Publication Date: January 10, 2017 Rating: 4.5 Stars

* All My thoughts and opinion are my own*

The frost king will burn. Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge. Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating—yet irresistible—Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her—and from the icy young man she has come to love (Goodreads,2017).

STORY TIME - I have met Elly Blake (briefly)

Before I start this review, we need to backpedal to a few weeks ago, let say February 3rd. That is the day I met Elly Blake. It was during a conference – OLA Super Conference to be exact. I heard about Frostblood earlier and added to my Goodreads I want to read page. I did not even check what the book is about. I think the reason I added it because it had a wicked awesome cover that I thought had to do with ice vampires. Ha-ha Yes, I know.

I added Elly Blake on the list to see as I go through the expo, however, I had to attend a session and assume I would miss the signing.

The night before I went on Chapters’ website and for once, read the description. GUYS, NO VAMPIRES AT ALL. I just had to get this book, not only was it giving me Last Air Bender vibes, Red Queen and Queen of Tearling vibes. Now, I seen the reviews and opinions and agreed that Frostblood is another typical YA fantasy science fiction with typical cliches. Do I mind? Not really. I wanted to read it myself and have my own opinion on it.

Fast forward the meeting ended early and I busted myself out of the room with heels on across the conference to get to the expo (because the room just had to be on the others side of the EXPO) I ran to the booth and there still sat the ELLY BLAKE!! I had to stop myself from throwing my arms around her and giving her the biggest hug - because let's faces the truth, she deserves it.

Elly is the sweetest person. She was kind and geuine and is really happy ! I swear I wanted to hug her again. She signed my book (below ) and a copy for a friend who couldn't make it in the morning.

Now if I had read her book beforehand, I feel this encounter would have been different. Probably with a real hug. AND discuss Arcus. Did I mention she is also canadain? Yes she is. Super proud !

Personal Thoughts

I finished it in four hours.

This book is magical. It's addicting, riveting, gripping and breathtaking! Elly made me laugh out loud, cover my mouth from screaming of irritation or cheering on Ruby. Honesty, I want to go to the nearest Chapters, grab every copy and throw them at people to read. It's such a compelling, addicting elemental story. I cannot fathom more words to describe this novel without writing a long page essay. I. AM. JUST.OBSESS!

The world is specular. Elly has created the elemental world by power and belief - their deities are Dru the prophecies, God Eurus – east wind, Fors ( He created Frostblood) and Sud ( Created Firebloods) and Eurus sister, Cirrus. There is a myth between the two gods that the thrones of Tempesia and Sudesia to help win war and immense power. The Firebloods and the Frostbloods were at peace and suddenly, Frostbloods are extremely prejudices toward Firefloods. The Frost Kings often went mad, hearing voices and carrying out horrific acts. Why were the kings suddenly becoming monsters in the shadows and why the impossible task on one rare Fireblood.

That trying to remove the king is the begging of what's really coming.

Pick it up. I highly suggest picking it up. I really love this book and cannot wait for FIREBLOOD - more like I need it.

Ruby

Ruby is the main point of view, a seventeen-year-old Fire Blood, and is one of the rare Firefloods in her village. She tends with her brilliant healer mother to the sick and weak. Until one day, someone in the village rats her out and she was taken away and was locked up in that prison cell to rot and died until months later, two figures – Brother Thistle and Arcus- come to get her out of the prison for a purpose that involves her freedom, if she can kill the Frost King.

" In my village, I felt alone, misunderstood. But at least cherished the thought that, one day, another Fire blood would help me understand what raged inside my heart and how to live with it, how to harness and use it without fear of hurting everyone around me. Now I appeared I was alone."

She is realistic – temper, raw and fierce warrior. She also fears of her power. She doesn't know the extent of her power since she had to conceal it for years. It’s tempting and dangerous. I think what I like about it is that she fear of her own gift. She never had the proper training and always had to hide her ability. Her power has more control over her than herself having control to it. When Ruby is given a chance for a Freedom card, she takes it. All she must do is kill the Frost king. The brutal Frost King. Brother Thistle and Arcus wants her fire to defeat the Frost King. She is force into training and then is recapture by the Frost Kings guards. She is brought forth to the King and he throws her into the king’s arena - a champion who can win their way too freedom. Though a fireflood never made it out alive. As Ruby battles in the pit of the Frostblood King against Frostbloods. Ruby, being forced to become stronger than she thought she was, starts gaining this powerful undetermined strength delivered from the light or darkness and secrets about the Frost King.

Arcus

"What are you hiding?""I'm hiding nothing. I only cover what people don't wish to see."

I need to talk about him. I am in love with him. He such a cinnamon bun. sweet and gooey. When we meet him, I swear, Ruby is planning any possible way to end his life. He walks in like he the man and knows it all. His attitude suck from the beginning. That is a fact. We meet him as this hooded, hard character- a warrior one second, a gentleman the next. He’s very cold (literally) and harsh, temper powerful Frostblood. He lethal and stealth. He wears a mask when he not wearing a hood. SERIOUSLY, WHAT ARE YOU HIDING FROM THE WORLD ARCUS! He very murky what his real purpose is; other than to train Ruby and make her feel less worth than she is. He offers Ruby a chance at freedom and he treats as badly as the guards at the prison. How are we supposed to trust a Frostblood and expect that the telling the truth? Frostblood are cold ruthless killers. Or so we think. However, that’s not his story. It runs deeper than the puckered scars on his face. The reason is very deep and throws the curveball into what the real plan is for Ruby to kill the Frost King. HIs scars are what he fears od Ruby's power. He is very self-concious about his scars and all I wanted to do was give Arcus huge hugs. I love the relationship between him and Brother Thistle, as well, Ruby. Arcus does develop feelings for Ruby, from enemies to lovers. It just swoon-worthy ! Their relationship melts my heart.

"My bundle of firewood," he said softly. "It's good to have you in my arms again."

Okay, I really need to settle down.

There banter is just cute. Too cute. I sputter and laugh so hard because they bicker like an old married couple.

" My skins burns you, doesn't it? I asked, noticing his furrowed brow and clenched jaw.

It’s your stench that burns my nostrils, Fire blood and nothing else. I hope Brother Thistle has enough soap in the abbey to make you bearable. "

DEAD.

"How did you find me?"

He unclenched his jaw to answer. " When Wheatgerm returned to the stables, I followed her tracks until they disappeared. And then I heard someone bellowing nonsense, and I knew it must be you."

"Who the blazes is Wheatgerm?"

"The horse you stole from the abbey," he said as if talking to a simpleton.

"You mean Butter. And I didn't steal her. I borrowed her. I take it she's safe?"

"Cold and tired, but safe in the stables eating like she's half starved. Which she probably is, thanks to you. And her name isn't Butter."

"It is now."

"She's not yours to name."

"She's mine in spirit now that we've had an adventure together. And her name suits her. She's soft and yellow, like butter."

He made a disgusted sound. "If we all had names to suit us, you'd be called Thorn in My Backside. Or Plague of the Gods."

I prickled at his scathing tone. "And you'd be Miserable Blockhead."

"Is that the best you could do?"

"Give me time. I'm half frozen."

( My Reactions through out reading it)

If you have read Frostblood, What is your favorite scene? And, Would you rather be a Frostblood or Fireblood ?

Signing out,

Maddi

bottom of page