top of page

Blog Tour (March 1st) : The Dysasters by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast


P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast Hardcover, 320 pages

February 26th 2019

Wednesday Books ​Paranormal/ Superheros

3/5 Stars

* This arc was sent to me by Wedendays Books. Thank you so much.**

Summary Foster Stewart knows she's different. Her life has never been "normal." Talking to plants and controlling cloud formations aren't things most seventeen year olds are into. Tate "Nighthawk" Taylor is perfect. Star quarterback and all around dreamy boy next door he never thought about his "extra" abilities. What quarterback wouldn't want night vision? That's not weird, right? It's cool! But on the night of their first meeting a deadly tornado brings them together and awakens their true abilities - the power to control the element air. Unbeknown to Tate and Foster, they are the first in a group of teens that were genetically manipulated before birth to bond with the elements. Which truly sucks for Foster, as she has to face the fact that Dr. Rick Stewart, her beloved scientist father, betrayed her and now wants to use her and the others for his own nefarious world domination plot. Foster and Tate must stop Dr. Stewart and his minions before he destroys their lives and the world.

BUY LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

#1 New York Times & #1 USA Today bestselling author P.C. Cast was born in the Midwest, and, after her tour in the USAF, she taught high school for 15 years before retiring to write full time. PC is a member of the Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame. Her novels have been awarded the prestigious: Oklahoma Book Award, YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers, Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award, Booksellers' Best, and many, many more. Ms. Cast is an experienced teacher and talented speaker who lives in Oregon near her fabulous daughter, her adorable pack of dogs, her crazy Maine Coon, and a bunch of horses.

Kristin Cast is a #1 New York Times and #1 USA Today bestselling author who teams with her mother to write the wildly successful House of Night series. She has editorial credits, a thriving t-shirt line, and a passion for all things paranormal. When away from her writing desk, Kristin loves going on adventures with her friends, family, and

Personal Thoughts

Going into the book I was really excited. I remember seeing the House of Night series my high school library. PC Cast is a highly praised author. I was very intrigued by the premise. The Dysasters is a promising start of all new series of a extraordinary adventure of teenagers with special abilities. A deadly, action-packed whirlwind of adventure.

Doesn't it sound so cool? I always dream of having special abilities whether it's controlling the weather, telekinesis, superhuman strength, controlling the elements, or shapeshifting. Have you ever wish to have powers to finish your homework done faster? I always did when it came to complete math homework. I was so pumped ready to get Hero, Young justice, Marvel, DC, or Teen Titian vibes from The Dysasters!!

This book was ... a lot. It was disastrous. I did not fully enjoy the book as much as I really wanted too. I love love the premise. A scientist plays god, creates babies being able to control elements. The first batch of the experiments is grown up, experiencing their power weakening, suffering side effects of their powers and now searching for the scientist latest batch. Tate and Foster on the run to find their past to learn about who they are now, how they can to be and who is after them.

I did not like Tate and Foster. I did not like the relationship that was blooming together. It was uncomfortable and annoying. #dramatic much. I wish they stayed friends.

The writing was super bland. I continue reading because I was super curious to know what happens next. The writing overkills my enjoyment because it was awful with cringy and uncomfortable dialogue. Readers are thrust into puzzlement and rush scenes that are not satisfying and page-turning worthy.

The ending was not terrible. It was okay. I imagined the unknowns will be wrapped up in the second book. I am really hopeful for book two.

Overall, This was not the book for me. I did not enjoy as much I wanted too. It's disappointing because I enjoyed previous novels from them. If you are a huge fan of PC Cast and Kristin Cast, I highly recommend this book to you!

 

BOOK TRAILER

SOCIAL MEDIA

Please use #TheDysasters to tag any of the accounts below in any social media posts

P.C. Cast

Facebook: @pccastauthor

Twitter: @pccastauthor

Instagram: @pccastauthor

Kristin Cast

Twitter: @KCastAuthor

Instagram: @kcastauthor

Wednesday Books

Facebook: @WednesdayBooks

Instagram: @WednesdayBooks

Twitter: @WednesdayBooks

 

Signing out,

Maddi

bottom of page