top of page

Blog Tour: Wild At Heart By K.A Tucker

I fell in love with a sky cowboy from Alaska. I am still attractive to the angry yeti.

THE ANGRY YETI AND BARBIE ARE BACK !!!

My reaction when I got the email of getting an e-arc of Wild At Heart was the sound of a male seal above ground bark; throwing my body across my bed in giddiness, feeling like butterflies fluttering in my chest and crying with joyous. I am in pure heaven ! For my mom passing by my door thought I was concern that I completely lost my mind.

Wild At Heart is the sequel to The Simple Wild. If you have not read The Simple Wild; please stop now and find a copy. I promise you that you will not regret it. The book was previously published back in 2018. I, unfortunately, I did not know about K A Tucker's work until the summer of 2019 when I was introduced to adult romance books. And Oh my sweet goodness, K A Tucker has my attention and heart. She is a mastermind at storytelling. It's an emotional ride!

I did worry.

This is a sequel. Meaning I was really concerned about how Tucker was going to pull the story. I did not want this to be a cute fairy tale rom-com that everything was smooth landing when Calla moves to Alaska permanently. I wanted Calla to be knee-deep in the dirt, facing her fears and seeking discomfort. When we first meet Calla, she is whiny, dramatic, driven yet compassionate and kind. I love seeing Calla character growth moving to emote valleys, small communities, high glaciers, and enormous mountains. Because let's face it, it not every day you decide to pack your entire life in 25 luggage and fly to move to Alaska to move in with your boyfriend and start over. To navigate a new relationship. This is not a short girl's trip to the weekend cabin in the middle of winter. I wouldn't even move to another city to live with my boyfriend. So moving to a new STATE is out of the equation for me. This is navigating into a new climate, new community, and new wild creatures that may or may not eat you. Wild At Heart isn't just Calla settling into Alaska creating a home, it's also coming settling in the relationship with Jonah.

What will be enough, then?” Because I can’t imagine my life without Jonah in it anymore.

“Find your place here. Something that’s going to give you—Calla Fletcher—purpose. Something that feels like you.” She nods slowly as if agreeing with her own answer. “Find that, and then give it your all.” - K A Tucker, Wild At Heart

“What hold does Alaksa have on them? What makes this place worth giving everything else up?” K.A. Tucker, The Simple Wild

Am I happy here? I’m happy with Jonah. I love him in a way I didn’t think existed—wholly and resolutely. But am I happy here, in my life? Or have I been fooling myself into thinking that one morning I’ll wake up and things that feel foreign and temporary will finally feel like home? - KA Tucker, Wild At Heart

Let's talk about Jonah and Calla !!! My favorite OTPS. The couple that I want to secure and protected forever !!! I could not contain my excitement when the sequel was announced. More Calla and Jonah, yes, please. There is something so raw and tender about Calla and Jonah's relationship that makes me want to crave their initial, a heart surrounding in a tree. I love Jonah and Calla !!!! I was screaming at the book for them to admit they have feelings for each other and I could not have been more happy for that cabin scene in The Simple Wild. They just work. With that said, Wild At Heart not only tests their relationship as a team but as individuals. I want to click a thumbs-up emoji 1oo times on how Tucker dive deeper into Calla and Jonah's relationship. I love seeing the small tender-sweet vulnerable moments, the steamy moments, pull my heart moments and the moments that I thought I needed to be out of the room for them to work it out. The moments that were vulnerable was what impresses me because their fights and disagreements might be small and petty, its real. There are a lot of compromises, broken promises, time apart, the resentment, manipulation, and drifting that is in this book yet makes a huge impact in their relationship. Its not a summer fling. this a relationship that needs to make it strong or it will break and will not last. A relationship that cannot be holding the other person back.

It’s everything I imagined being in love could feel like, back when I was trying to figure out what love is when I couldn’t form a definition in my mind for it. It’s this. It’s us. It’s the swell of emotion every time Jonah first walks into the room, it’s the impatience I feel whenever he’s not around, it’s the way my heart skips every time I make him laugh. On impulse, I lean over and press a quick kiss against Jonah’s cheek, just above his freshly trimmed beard. He regards me, a curious glint in his eye. “What’s that for?”

“For being you.” - K A Tucker, Wild At Heart.

My heart melted into a puddle.

Help me down?” It’s far too high to jump with the plane on floats and a trailer. Jonah obliges, stretching out his arms and opening up his broad chest. I lean down and, wrapping my arms around his neck, let myself drop, knowing he can bear my weight. He grunts but barely shifts, easing me to the ground with an arm roped around my back. I steal a kiss from his lips on my way down. - K A Tucker, Wild At Heart

It’s where I belong.” Beside Jonah, in the sky or in the ground. But always by his side.

<3

It was really interesting to see more of Jonah in his natural habit, working as a pilot. To see more of his drive, his faults and romantic self that makes him the angry yeti. In The Simple Wild we see only small glimpses. Jonah runs the same drive as Callas's father. That Alaska is in his blood and thrives on flying. He is as confronting, stubborn as be before but also a thick-headed man that makes me want to yell at him. There are moments his happiness is clouding over Callas's discomfort and not giving the support he should be giving that I wanted to throttle him.

Jonah likes to ride this thing at full throttle. As with everything he does in life, it seems. But that’s just who he is. He’ll always be wild at heart, and there is no way to tame or change him. - K A Tucker, Wild At Heart.

Wild at heart is also so funny. From the small banters between characters to full out embarrassing yourself in front of others was so good. I don't know the number of times that I choke on my tea, pounding at my chest, tears watering my ears as I laugh. I could not stop. My favorite LOL moment was a scene with Calla and a moose. It is so priceless!

I love seeing familiar faces and meeting new faces. It just makes this novel more a comforting hug. Tucker brings in these characters that are so whit-sharp, a force of nature and an SOB.

With The Simple Wild, I was compelled to story because there are so many elements that resonate with Calla and Wild At Heart is what I hope to achieve by discovery, love, and patience. Overall, I am infatuated with Wild At Heart. I could not put it down. I am a true die-hard fan of Tucker's. It is my favorite romance sequel and I can definitely see a third novel of Calla and Jonah.

* I received an e-arc of Wild At Heart from K A Tucker & Social Butterfly PR for an honest review. My thoughts and opinions are my own. *

Wild At Heart

K A Tucker

456 pages

Paperback

February 18th 2020

From the internationally best-selling author of The Simple Wild comes the continuation of a woman’s journey to Alaska and a life she never imagined for herself.

Wild at Heart, book two in the Simple Wild series by USA Today bestselling author, K.A. Tucker, is live!

Calla Fletcher returns to Toronto a different person, struggling to find direction and still very much in love with the rugged bush pilot she left behind. When Jonah arrives on her doorstep with a proposition she can’t dismiss, she takes the leap and rushes back to Alaska to begin their exciting future together.

But Calla soon learns that even the best intentions can lead to broken promises, and that compromise comes with a hefty price—a log cabin in interior rural Alaska that feels as isolating as the western tundra.

With Jonah gone more than he’s home, one neighbor who insists on transforming her into a true Alaskan, and another who seems more likely to shoot her than come to her aid, Calla grapples with forging her own path. In a world with roaming wildlife that has her constantly watching over her shoulder and harsh conditions that stretch far beyond the cold, dark, winter months, just stepping outside her front door can be daunting.

This is not the future Calla had in mind, leaving her to fear that perhaps she is doomed to follow in her mother’s fleeing footsteps after all.

About the author K.A. Tucker writes captivating stories with an edge.

She is the USA Today bestselling author of 17 books, including the Causal Enchantment, Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series, He Will Be My Ruin, Until It Fades, Keep Her Safe, and The Simple Wild. Her books have been featured in national publications including USA Today, Globe & Mail, Suspense Magazine, First for Women, and Publisher's Weekly. She has been nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Romance 2013 for TEN TINY BREATHS and Best Romance 2018 for THE SIMPLE WILD. Her novels have been translated into 16 languages.

K.A. Tucker currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her family.

Connect with K.A. Tucker:

 

READ MORE OF K A TUCKER

Signing out,

Maddi Clark .

bottom of page